Database List

---

Result: 1 hit
[TOP]  【Explanation of icon】  [Sort:(interior/abroad) > (ABC:title)]

---

朝日新聞クロスサーチ

Remote Access 
[ Database types: Newspapers ]

Concurrent users: 3	Coverage: 1879-Current
"Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search for Library" from the Asahi Shimbun Company is an online article database that permits easy investigation of past events, and is available in many universities and libraries both in and outside Japan. It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 16 million articles and advertisements from more than 140 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today. Most of the articles that can be searched using keywords in the Asahi Shimbun Reduced-size Facsimile Edition are from the newspaper editions published in Tokyo, but pages from the editions published in Osaka are also stored, so it is possible to compare the two editions with different content by searching on publication date. Articles since 1985 are available for full-text searching, and can be read with the full-text displayed. The database also contains articles from the magazines 'AERA' and 'Shukan Asahi'. Furthermore, the Historical Photo Archive, a database of approximately 10 thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period, is available as well. English-language News Database, Asahi Graph, Who's Who database, Image Database of Regional pages, Overseas Editions and Contemporary Words Chiezo are also available. "History keyword" system is a distinctive feature of Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search, which is designed to efficiently search for the articles of the Meiji, the Taisho and the Showa periods. History keywords consist of selected major events of those days and names of historical figures as opposed to regular keywords given in the articles. By searching the database by history keywords, all relevant articles, even those which do not contain the very keywords, can be searched interrelatedly. In addition, a variety of history keyword lists (e.g. its chronological table and one organized by field of activity) further helps one's search. A click on a keyword on the lists is enough to retrieve all relevant information all at once. "Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search for Library" is a repository of materials of modern Japanese history. Basic contents ●Full Text Database from 1985 to the present, Shukan Asahi, AERA The latest news, as well as a menu for those searching current events. You can easily search in each edition of the Asahi Shimbun with the search criteria you require, such as complete keyword match, publication date and category. All 46 prefectures of Japan are included, excluding Okinawa. Local news is at your fingertips in a moment. Most of the Tokyo headquarters morning edition is searchable by 6:00 AM of that day. The evening edition is added by 7:00 PM of that day. ●Image Database of Post-WWII Showa Period (1945-1989) and Heisei Period (1989-1999) of the Asahi Shimbun Reduced-size Facsimile Edition The menu is designed for those wishing to retrace past news and do historical searches. In addition to publication date and title, it is also possible to categorize searches based on names, places, and topical keywords. An image of the actual page from the time is viewable via a PDF file. Extra editions can be searched. ●Contemporary Words Chiezo Contains more than 8,000 of the latest terms. Updated on a yearly basis every spring.